Apple Strudel 


My next door neighbour has an apple tree and gave me a bag of apples, so today i made some puff pastry and made apple strudel with custard for pudding. (Note) I only made puff pastry because i was too busy to go out and get some , ordinarily I prefer to buy shop bought as it is time consuming.

This time of year is perfect for strudel as its getting colder the apples are in season this is a great autumn ( fall) comfort food. I replaced the currants as im not a fan of them with raisins.

Also I used my homemade gingerbread syrup which you will find in one of my earlier posts as it boosted the flavours. As well as apples i used a few dried apple pieces just because i thought it would soak up the syrupy flavour of the gingerbread.

Ingredients 


Shop bought puff pastry ( or you can make your own there are recipes online)


3 large apples ( i used 6 small off apple tree) cut into small chunks


1/4 cup of demerara sugar


1/3 cup of raisins 


1/3 cup of dried apple chunks


2 tbl spoons gingerbread syrup



Method


In a pan add your apple, sugar, raisins,  dried apple & syrup and cook on medium heat untilyour apple is soft but not puree.

Then on a lightly floured surface, roll out pastry into a rectangle and make insicion in the eeds at an angle so that it will fold over. Put your filling in and fold pastry to seal pinch the ends. Put diagonal slits on the long strudel then brush eggwas over it place on parchment paper and a baking tray 180c for fan assisted cook for 10 to 15 minutes or untill golden brown ontop.



Leave a comment